Top 5: Movies You Thought Would Suck

In honor of Loganwhich is a film that I saw last night and that surprised the hell out of me with how amazing it was, let’s take a look back at some other films that surprised me. This week’s Top 5 Friday: Top Five Movies You Thought Would Suck… but Didn’t!

5) The WolverineIt’s safe to say that the X-Men films have had their ups and downs. Before this film, we had the original trilogy, Originsand First Classand it really seemed that the series was sputtering a bit. The Last Stand was exactly people’s favorite film, Origins is basically hated by all comic book fans and First Class was a reboot/prequel of the franchise so I wasn’t expecting much from this film. Actually, my thoughts four years ago when this film came out was “so we’re just going to change the country that this film takes place in and hope nobody notices that it’s pretty much the same story all over again?” Tokyo DriftA Good Day to Die Hardand many other franchises have done this with poor results, and I thought this film would do the same. Boy, was I wrong! This film deepened our character, made The Last Stand more impactful, and was aesthetically gorgeous as a whole. It gave us a Wolverine more like the one we always wanted to see and was a lot of fun while doing it. Definitely worth a watch.

4) StorksThe trailers for this movie were immature, unfunny and ridiculous. The marketing team behind this seemed to only have young children in mind when cutting together advertisements because I was turned off from the very start. The best animated films will market to family audiences of all ages instead of just the younger demographic because they know that parents will have to take their kids, and parents often have a say in what their families watch. I would not have taken my kids (if I had any) to this and would have chosen a different film for us all to see because these trailers sucked. However, I saw the film finally and absolutely loved it because it was so much more than the trailers offered; it was a family film aimed at everybody instead of a goofy kids movie that only kids can enjoy. Additionally, the ending will be more meaningful to everybody besides kids since they won’t understand or appreciate it as much as an adult or even young adult would.

3) Ted 2I am a huge Family Guy fan, but I do not enjoy the first Ted film, and I didn’t even bother seeing A Million Ways to Die in the West because I heard mixed to negative things about it. However, I saw this film before it came out and could not stop laughing throughout. At this point, I’ve seen the film a good 3 or 4 times and still love it just as much as the first time I saw it. Sure, there’s a little bit of silly humor but all of the humor is very smartly written for the story and characters and all of it works on at least some level. Whether you like referential humor, stoner humor, buddy humor, anatomical humor, etc., this film has got a little bit of everything for all audience members to enjoy. Being somebody who just loves to laugh, this film was a great time all in all, and I highly recommend it for people with open minds.

2) DeadpoolI’ll be honest, not having any background with the Deadpool character and doubt that Fox would pull anything off with this film, I had absolutely no expectations for it to be good. In fact, I was pretty sure that this film would suck and was shocked to see good ratings come out. Fox buried this film with a February release, gave it a lower budget, sort of wrote it off preemptively as a failure and had as little faith in it as I did. We were both wrong and this film soared to heights that NOBODY could have ever predicted. I mean, an award-winning superhero movie is one thing but this film? That’s insane and I was blown away with not only how genuinely great it was, but how much it didn’t suck at all. A timely story, fascinating characters, great revenge story and so much humor and action all added up to make one hell of a ride, and one great additional character to the X-Men film series as a whole. I can’t wait to see where else this series takes Deadpool.

1) Mad Max Fury RoadMy friends asked me if I was excited to see this film and I’ll I said was “why would I be excited to see a man drive across a desert for two hours? It looks pointless!” Little did I know, a story about a man driving across a desert for two hours was the most exciting thing to come out of 2015, and was the best possible version of that film that it could have been. A best picture nominee and a nominee in so many other categories is a sign of a truly remarkable movie, and you could not have made me believe that that would have been the case prior to it’s release. My jaw was agape at the end of the film, and I had just had SO much fun watching it after my first viewing. I saw it twice in theaters and twice at home since then and it has been one of my all-time favorite films ever since. I cannot wait to see a sequel if there will ever be one and I know that millions of other people feel the same way that I do.

Well, that’s my list, what is yours? I’d love to hear what you think as well! As always, thanks for reading and I’ll see you soon!

Leave a Reply

