Question: Are You Happy with The Oscar Results?

The 89th Academy Awards were held last night and as always, there are upsets and surprises. Looking at the results, what were your predictions, and did those predictions end up being right? I will be looking at each category, listing the nominees, stating the winner as well as what my prediction was. Additionally, I will only be looking at categories in which I have seen all of the nominees as to not be biased and only have fair opinions be represented! Let’s get started…

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS

The Jungle Book took home the Oscar last night, and it definitely makes sense why that is. Rogue One or Kubo would also have been good choices in my opinion because they each gave us worlds that were very imaginative and unusual. However, The Jungle Book created animals out of nothing and a world that looks real but is in fact not which is nothing short of breathtaking.

BEST FILM EDITING

The best film editing is invisible film editing, and I suppose that this is most certainly true in this case because there wasn’t anything that I saw in Hacksaw Ridge that made me think “damn, that’s good editing!” In fact, La La Land, Moonlight, and Arrival all made me say that, and any of those I would have thought would win, but I’m certainly okay with the great film Hacksaw Ridge taking the trophy!

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY

  • Arrival
  • La La Land (winner)
  • Lion
  • Moonlight
  • Silence (my vote)

La La Land took home the trophy, and I would have been happy with literally any of these films winning, most especially the first five. If I had a gun to my head, I would eliminate Lion since it didn’t jump out to me during the film. Any Denis Villeneuve film will always look gorgeous, so Arrival would definitely be one of my first choices along with Silence and Moonlight. Of course La La Land looked amazing, so I have no qualms with the decision, but I would have probably chosen Silence for capturing such a beautiful foreign landscape.

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

While Moonlight definitely deserved all of the recognition it got in this category, as plays are difficult to adapt to film, Arrival was my preferred winner because it’s even harder to adapt a short story to a full-length feature film. I mean, so much more content had to be added to Story of Your Life to make Arrival than In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue for Moonlight so I would think that it makes Arrival the better adaptation. I would also give a lot of recognition to Fences in this area as well, but it did feel more like a stage play than a film as it was very contained and dialogue driven.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Fences had nothing if not amazing performances by the extremely talented cast, and Viola Davis delivers another unforgettable one here. Outshining all of the other nominees in this category, she stole every scene she was in for the 140-minute drama where other actresses nominated had much smaller screen times than she did (they all deserved their nominations, though), which made her work all the more impressive. Yeah, no qualms with this winner.

BEST ACTOR

While my vote in this category would actually go to Andrew Garfield for Silence, I suppose my runner up would be Ryan Gosling for La La Land, both of whom dedicated themselves entirely for their roles and method acting their way to deliver the unforgettable work they put forth. While Garfield lost 40 pounds for the film and gave a heartbreaking turn as a Jesuit priest, Gosling learned to play piano and sung and danced his way into the heart of millions and millions in the film of a century. Affleck, of course, was great too, but he would have probably been towards the bottom of my ranking of the five nominees.

BEST DIRECTOR

No argument here whatsoever, to be able to pull off a film like La La Land, you need an incredible director who not only has the practice and patience but passion as well. Although there are many large-scale scenes in the film occurring all over parts of LA, the story still feels extremely intimate and small between just two people. My runner up would be Mel Gibson because directing a war movie would be very cutthroat and I can’t imagine the work he had to do for that epic 150-minute film.

BEST PICTURE

  • Arrival
  • Fences
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • Hell or High Water
  • Hidden Figures
  • La La Land (my vote)
  • Lion
  • Manchester by the Sea
  • Moonlight (winner)

I don’t need to go over the confusion and fiasco that occurred at the Oscars last night, but I will say that after watching all nine of the films at the Best Picture Showcase at AMC, I was rooting for Moonlight to take home the award, and was a little disappointed that La La Land won only because of the great experience I had with Moonlight. However, I still think that La La Land is the more impressive film, not to undermine Mooonlight, but if I had my own awards I think I would have given the trophy to the runner-up instead of the winner in this case. I’ve seen La La Land three times and it still kills me every time. I’ve seen Moonlight twice and love it like crazy, but it doesn’t hit me as hard.

Well, of course there are many films that I need to see which kept me from commenting on categories such as Best Original Screenplay, Best Supporting Actor, Best Actress, Best Animated Film, etc., but what did you think of the ones that I did see? What were your picks for the categories? I’d love to hear your thoughts! Let me know! As always, thanks for reading and I’ll see you soon!

Leave a Reply

