Best of the Week: La La Land

The only real competition this film had for my last pick for Best Movie of the Week of 2016 was Captain Fantasticand as much as I adore that film, I simply had to give this award to La La Land. You can read my full review of this film here, and these next few paragraphs will be abbreviated excerpts from that review.

From the very opening scene, I knew immediately that I was wrong, and this movie was going to live up to the impossible hype. This film is easily one of the greatest movie-going experiences of my entire life…. There’s nothing that can be said about La La Land that isn’t in glorious praise: this movie is so indescribably beautiful that I would even call it majestic. This film is a powerhouse of expertise, it is a defibrillator of aesthetic enthusiasm and an absolute masterpiece in every possible way. From the very beginning to the very end, this film overflows with genius and perfection is simply forcing it to burst at the seams. Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone give breathtaking performances, and the story that their respective characters share together is sure to make every audience member fall in love.

Not since Titanic have I seen an emotional relationship between two characters that made me feel the way this movie has. Chazelle’s writing allows this movie to soar to new heights, and his direction takes it up even higher. Those aspects coupled with the choreography and performances of Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone, the incredible score that will win over even the least appreciative of jazz music, and the cinematography, which alone could get somebody to fall in love, easily makes this film the best of the entire decade. My heart broke as the film came to an end, because I wanted nothing more than for it to go on and on, and I cannot wait to see Chazelle’s next effort.

There’s simply not enough praise that can be given to this film, one can go on forever applauding and gushing, but I’m going to let you see the film for yourself to appreciate the rest of it. As mentioned, the story was beautiful, and the direction from Chazelle to bring that story to the screen was mesmerizing. What was the best film that you watched this week? Let me know! If you’ve seen this, what did you think? As always, thanks for reading and I’ll see you soon!

3 thoughts on “Best of the Week: La La Land

Leave a Reply

