10 Best Films of 2016 V1 (Honorables)

2016 has been a year full of movies; there are still many that I need to see, but out of the 83 2016 films that I have watched as of posting this countdown, I have compiled a best and worst list. More accurately, these are my favorites and least favorites, subjective and personal so my own tastes and experiences.

Note: since there are still many films that I need to see, this is Version 1 of my list, with Version 2 being posted on February 1st, and the final Version 3 being posted on February 25th. Without further adieu, here are my Honorable Mentions for Worst Films of the Year.

10 Cloverfield LaneThis “sequel” to CloverfieldI think actually is far better standing on it’s own. What I loved about this film was how unique and unpredictable it was, and how it blended genres like thriller, drama, action, mystery, sci-fi, and horror, all in a contained and claustrophobic setting. There’s a very intense dynamic between the characters, as they aren’t sure if they can trust one another, and they aren’t sure where they are or why they’re there, and it all creates a very intense experience while watching, and an ending that is actually kind of disappointing, but forgivable seeing as how everything that lead up to it was so impressive.

Doctor StrangeThis is the newest film to enter the beloved and rapidly expanding Marvel Cinematic Universe- and this film is by far the most ambitious, the most groundbreaking, and easily the most unique film I’ve seen in some time. I love the MCU and (almost) all of the films it contains; they usually meet my high expectations, and rarely am I disappointed in them. However, almost as rarely do they far exceed my expectations, and Doctor Strange is now another film to join that extremely short list. This film contained more than everything I wanted to see it in, and just about everything that I did see in it, I loved. The characters sold me, the story hooked me, the visuals floored me, and the entire movie blew me away every chance it got. Read my full review for the film here.

The Edge of Seventeen. is a 2016 comedy/drama written and directed by Kelly Fremon Craig about life, love, and friendship. With the story at it’s core, authenticity just drips from the movie screen, and the cast did a great job of carrying Craig’s unique and charmingly bittersweet film.There really isn’t much to dislike about this film at all- and there are so many more comedic moments than just the ones in the trailer, which I loved seeing. The story, cast, and themes of the movie were all impressive and Craig’s handling of them all deserve applause for sure. For those who complain about not seeing any original films in the theaters, it’s your fault for not going to see the original films when they come to theaters- because they are there all of the time, and here is a great example of it. Read my full review for the film here.

Manchester by the Sea. This movie works so well because of the characters, and the performances that bring them to live. Casey Affleck as Lee and Lucas Hedges as Patrick stood out to me, and were some of the most memorable aspects of this film. The story, told partly through flashbacks, jumped around in time and kept me guessing at the next move, but was never easy to predict. Watching Lee grow as a character in multiple ways, in the present and the past, was a great experience, and he was so well-written and played that he, along with the rest of them, felt like real people, and I never felt like I was just watching a movie. This film is raw, real, honest and true, and although it won’t be for everybody, it’s definitely one that you should watch when you get the chance. Read my full review here.

Sing StreetJohn Carney brings yet another triumph of a film after Once and Begin Again in a story about life, love, being the best possible version of yourself, and music. The songs in this film alone would be a great experience, but on top of those, this film has a beautiful story that made me tear up at the end, and an incredible cast of characters as well. Together they make this film funny, heartbreaking, heartwarming, unpredictable, and magical, and it’s definitely one that I can’t wait to watch again. Almost this entire cast is either unknown, or just have been in very few things, which was nice because that element added to the intimate aspect of the film; it feels so small and personal, and I loved every second of it.

That’s all for the Honorable Mentions, head over to the next list in my countdown, Best Films of 2016 10-6! As always, comment your thoughts, share if you liked this, and thanks for reading! See ya soon!

Leave a Reply

