10 Best Films of 2016 V1 (5-1)

2016 has been a year full of movies; there are still many that I need to see, but out of the 83 2016 films that I have watched as of posting this countdown, I have compiled a best and worst list. More accurately, these are my favorites and least favorites, subjective and personal so my own tastes and experiences.

Note: since there are still many films that I need to see, this is Version 1 of my list, with Version 2 being posted on February 1st, and the final Version 3 being posted on February 25th. Without further adieu, here are my picks for Best Films of the Year, numbers 5-1.

5) Everybody Wants Some!! This story, being the “spiritual sequel” to Dazed and Confused, which was about high school kids in the 70’s, is about college baseball team in the 80’s. Specifically, we follow freshman Jake as he makes friends, flirts with girls, parties hard, and plays baseball on the last weekend before the semester starts up. Sure, it sounds like your average college movie, but it is not. This film is a breath- scratch that, a blast of fresh air, not only for college films, but for films in general. If this film did not have the great cast of characters that it did, then this film would be far less intriguing, but since there are about a dozen characters, and since they’re all unique and engaging, everything works very well, and made for such a pure and fun time watching this film. Read my full review here.

4) The Nice GuysThis film is the newest buddy-cop kind of film from Shane Black, who wrote Lethal Weapon, Lethal Weapon 2, Kiss Kiss Bang Bangand Iron Man 3, and this genre is definitely his strong suit. This movie is funnier than any comedy of the year, and is action-packed as well, with two incredible characters which make this film extremely reminiscent of the classic 80’s action movies. This is like a mix between Lethal Weapon and Beverly Hills Copwith more of the Shane Black-flair which he brought to us is Kiss Kiss. This movie stands as a representation of how original and great movies can be, if you just look for them and drive out to see them.

3) Captain Fantastic was even more than simply fantastic- it was a beautiful film because of the story, characters, cinematography, and really everything else. This film surprised the hell out of me; Matt Ross gives us a very intelligent, hilarious, and endearing story about expectations, and being the best person possible for yourself, and especially those around you. There are so many moments in this film that I’m going to remember for a long time, and there are so many quotes from this film that I want hung on my wall. There’s so many truly great parts of this film, and nothing that I do not like about this film except for the title, and I cannot wait to watch it again. Read my full review here.

2) Hacksaw Ridge. War films are a genre that are very hit-or-miss for me- they usually seem pretty similar, so it takes a lot of uniqueness and style for me to get into one, and Hacksaw Ridge is one of the best that I’ve ever seen. There was a beautiful romance, incredibly tense action, the best character I’ve seen on screen all year, and a story that was so amazing that I was on the verge of tears for the entire run time. Overall, this film is an absolute-must see, and it doesn’t do a single thing that I didn’t love- I can only ask for more from the movie of what it already gave us. Hacksaw Ridge is easily my favorite film of the year up to this point, and I cannot wait to see what this film does for Mel Gibson’s career, and Andrew Garfield’s as well. If you have not seen this film, please rush out to see it as soon as you get the chance, because it is an experience worth every penny.

1) La La LandThere’s nothing that can be said about La La Land that isn’t in glorious praise: this movie is so indescribably beautiful that I would even call it majestic. This film is a powerhouse of expertise, it is a defibrillator of aesthetic enthusiasm and an absolute masterpiece in every possible way. From the very beginning to the very end, this film overflows with genius, and perfection is simply forcing it to burst at the seams. Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone give breathtaking performances, and the story that their respective characters share together is sure to make every audience member fall in love. Their dancing was just fantastic, and the way they were able to dance precisely and flawlessly with Damien Chazelle’s extremely long takes took my breath away with each and every song. As the last scene was on the screen, my heart was racing and my stomach was flipping as if I was falling in love, and that’s exactly what this movie made me do. This is the film of the month, the film of the year, and the film of the century; an absolutely perfect movie-going experience. Read my full review here.

That’s all for my list of Best and Worst Films of 2016! I’ll be posting a remastered V2 in about a month, with my final V3 right before the Oscars. As always, comment your thoughts, share if you liked this, and thanks for reading! See ya soon!

2 thoughts on “10 Best Films of 2016 V1 (5-1)

Leave a Reply

