10 Best Films of 2016 V1 (10-6)

2016 has been a year full of movies; there are still many that I need to see, but out of the 83 2016 films that I have watched as of posting this countdown, I have compiled a best and worst list. More accurately, these are my favorites and least favorites, subjective and personal so my own tastes and experiences.

Note: since there are still many films that I need to see, this is Version 1 of my list, with Version 2 being posted on February 1st, and the final Version 3 being posted on February 25th. Without further adieu, here are my picks for Best Films of the Year, numbers 10-6.

10) Eye in the SkyThis movie absolutely blew me away in theaters this year; the way the entire film revolved around a single moment, and how the decision behind that moment is one of the most grave and difficult decisions anybody could ever make. The story takes place in the present day, with our military getting intel that some high-value targets are in a house, but they can’t bomb the house because there’s a little girl standing outside of the house, trying to sell bread. So, an extremely intense question of morality comes into play of whether or not one innocent should die, or these people escape and possibly kill more people. Whew, what a ride.

9) Green RoomMy favorite horror film of the year is the most disturbing, the most unique, and the most terrifying of 2016. In this film, we see a young punk-thrash-metal band tour to a small bar outside of any town, and when they witness a murder in one of the rooms, they are held hostage so that the killers can make sure they won’t come forward as witnesses. Of course, carnage ensues, and this film will shock the hell out of you. Like Perri Nemiroff said, there’s nothing like watching a cast of characters that you grow to love get picked off one by one in a horrifying blood bath, more or less; she’s right, that makes for the best horror because the audience has no clue who will live and who will die, and with these characters that are all seemingly innocent and relatable, we feel for them, and fear for them, at every moment in this story. It’s a horror film for the ages, and one that will spawn many knock-offs and what-n0t’s that will never live up to the quality that this film boasts. See it, see it if you dare. Read my full review here.

8) Swiss Army ManThis film gets my award for “Best Originality” for sure, and I don’t think I need to wait another 2 months to see the rest of the films because this will still win. There is so much to this film to love- and so much more than I would’ve expected to love. One of the most notably hilarious and impressive aspects of the movie was the soundtrack/score. The film’s social commentary should be taken to heart as it regards why people and society should be less judgmental and more accepting, and loving. Hate hurts and love saves, is a message that this film offers up without sounding preachy at all- and it teaches us to be better people as a whole. I would say that Swiss Army Man is a fantastic movie; the originality, humor and cast make writer/directors Dan Kwan and Daniel Schreinert’s film a diamond in the rough. This gem of a movie discusses life, love and friendship in a very thought-provoking and enjoyable way, and I do feel as though I profited from my experience watching the film in a very positive way. Read my full review here.

7) Kubo and the Two StringsThis is the movie that made me love stop motion; before I saw this film, I was not a fan of claymation, stop-motion, or Laika studios at all. To me, almost all claymation is very grotesque in aesthetic, and I’m more of a 3D animated film fan, with Pixar, Walt Disney Animation, and DreamWorks being films that I gravitate towards. However, my favorite animated film of the year, beating out Zootopia, Moana, The Little Prince, Finding Dory, and Kung Fu Panda 3 was the movie that I least expected to. Actually, I thought that this film looked great and I was super excited to see it, and I fully expected to like it, but I did not expect to adore this. What a great film, with a beautiful story, incredible animation, and a wonderful feeling to have after watching it. Such originality is present in the film, and I can’t recommend this film higher, especially since it deserves more recognition.

6) Hell or High WaterWhat I expected going into this film: a pretty good heist movie with some decent, but maybe forgettable characters. What I got: an absolutely hilarious, action-packed film about two bank-robbing brothers with an incredible amount of depth, and two lovable officers of the law that have to catch them. Both of these groups of people are the group that you side with in the movie, and they’re both equally well-written and performed. The chemistry between them (characters as well as actors) is highly entertaining, and their quips are laugh-out-loud funny. This is the underdog film of the year, and it’s one for the ages as well, solidifying Taylor Sheridan as a writer to watch out for.

That’s all for the first part of this list, head over to the next list in my countdown, Best Films of 2016 5-1! As always, comment your thoughts, share if you liked this, and thanks for reading! See ya soon!

One thought on “10 Best Films of 2016 V1 (10-6)

Leave a Reply

