Best of the Week: The Little Prince

The Little Prince was the only film that I watched this week, but even if it was the 100th, it would still probably be one of my favorites. I was looking forward to watching this for some time on Netflix, but I was not really sure what to expect going in at all, but I definitely was not expecting to love it as much as I have. At the stage in my life that I am now, I’m starting to see that there’s a lot wrong with the world, and that there’s probably nothing that I can do to change much at all, so when a movie like this comes across with a message of “life can be beautiful if you make it beautiful,” it’s very appreciated and I think it’s one that should be taken to heart by all who watch it.

It’s clear from the very opening scene that this story is critical of corporate civilization, and the monotonous and repetitive structure that it traps people in. A young girl, simply known in the film as The Little Girl to make this story accessible to all who watch it, is being forced to go to a school that will set her on the path of success, or more specifically, the path of being essential to society. To prepare her for this life of work, her mother sets a strict itinerary for her, planned down to every minute of every day for the next three months of nonstop work. On the first day of this new life, however, The Aviator quite literally crashes into her life when a propellor jet flies through his fence and into her house. Immediately, they become acquainted and start a friendship together, against her mother’s desire. He shows her what living life is truly about, and that will just a little imagination and love, that you can have the most beautiful and fulfilling life possible. It’s a very touching story, and it contains a great message without being preachy or hitting you over the head with it.

The message of this film was what I thought about for days afterwards, and the way the film goes about achieving that message is through a great voice cast who bring these rich characters to life, and an incredibly gorgeous aesthetic that blends 3D CG animation and stop-motion animation, the latter of which is used to tell the Little Girl about the story of The Little Prince. In this film, The Little Prince is used as a fable to show the girl that imagination is the most magical part of life; in the third act, which showcases the girl’s metaphorical journey into becoming an imaginative, creative and life-loving individual, we are able to see that falling into the routine of work can lead to a miserable and halting existence. Again, this movie is never really preachy with it’s message, which is one thing that I loved about it and allowed me to walk out of the movie feeling fulfilled and like I learned something about life.

Overall, this is one of the most touching and impressive animated films that you’ll see this year, and the fact that it’s a Netflix film proves that you don’t need to go to the theater anymore to have the best film experiences. This movie makes me want to read the original book from which it was based, and see just how insightful the writing must have been to inspire a work of art such as this film. I’m going to give this film an 8+/10, and a green recommendation. Have you seen this film? What did you think about it? Check out my other stuff for more great content on Instagram, or in my other posts! If you liked this, comment or share, and thank you for reading! I’ll see you soon!

One thought on “Best of the Week: The Little Prince

Leave a Reply

