Best of the Week: Rogue One

Rogue One is the 8th movie in the Star Wars saga, and the second film since Disney’s purchase (and revitalization) of the beloved series. This film was directed by Gareth Edwards (Godzilla) and stars Felicity Jones as Jyn Erso, Diego Luna as Cassian Andor, Ben Mendelsohn as Orson Krennic, Alan Tudyk as K-2SO, amongst a few other key members in the story. We follow Jyn as she attempts to find her father and get revenge on Orson Krennic for killing him, whilst also helping the rebellion steal her father’s Death Star plans so that they can defeat the Imperial forces- which now have the power to wipe out entire planets. Of course, this was easily my most anticipated film of the year alongside a few others such as Civil War, Dawn of Justice, and other big blockbusters; does this film prove that Disney has what it takes to give Star Wars the “Marvel treatment” and provide the story with spinoffs outside of the main saga films?…

The Good

For me, the best parts of this movie were either at the end, or covered in metal. K-2SO was an absolute stand-out as he provided comic relief throughout, and gave me a character who I really enjoyed following around. He was this year’s Groot, and was the most underestimated aspect of the film, for me. The ending if for nothing besides pure nostalgia, but what they delivered with the film in the last few minutes, and how that was delivered, and where the film ends was just beautiful in every way. I also might be in the minority here, but I really liked the score as well; I still think that it feels like a Star Wars score, but stands apart from the rest and tries to be it’s own thing, just as this entire film did. The last thing that I loved was the look of the locations, especially the new planet Eadu- which Gareth Edwards states is reminiscent of the planet at the beginning of Aliens. Also, Edwards says that this film pays homage to classics such as Blade Runner and others as well, and this film does feel like many of those in many ways, especially in tone. However, aside from all of those awesome things, there were also a few problems I had with the film (the rest of this review will be mostly an explanation of the problems that I have. There will be more of these that the “good” parts, because I feel that finding any problems with any Star Wars movies is a minority opinion and one has to defend their choices more than they do when praising the film)…

The Bad

The two problems I had with this film are mainly in character and pacing. The pacing problems I had stem from my character problems, and that’s basically that I found them dull and uninteresting. I never felt like these characters were easy to get behind, simply because I didn’t really care about them at all. At the end, I was ready for them all to die so that I could stop following them around and get to the good stuff- the action. Because I was so uninterested in the characters, the movie felt slow to be in the scenes which were character-driven. The audience I was with also lost their excitement towards the middle, as they stopped laughing at many of the things that we were laughing at in the beginning (which is everything when you’re a part of an audience as excited as we were). I’ll have to see this movie again, but I was pretty bored throughout the movie, and spend more time yawning and trying to have fun that actually having fun with these characters. I get why they were important, and I understand them all, but I didn’t find them compelling enough to listen to for 2 hours of this film. However, there were some great moments with these characters, and they all had great scenes individually and together, and it’s not that I hated them (I liked them), but I didn’t like them enough to follow them around for so long. I’d even see a sequel with them, if they could have a sequel together, that is, because I love being in the Star Wars world no matter who with.

Overall

Overall, Rogue One showed us that Disney knows what they’re doing with their franchise, and that any Star Wars story, no matter how small, can be just as amazing as any other. Although the characters felt uninteresting to me, and therefore slowed down the film in the first two acts, they didn’t keep me from having an absolute blast in the last 30 minutes, and I definitely cannot wait to see the film again very soon. I’m going to give Rogue One a 7+/10 with a green recommendation. See the film, if for anything, for the last 5 minutes, and your life will be complete. As always, thanks for reading, comment if you have any thoughts, and I’ll see you soon!

One thought on “Best of the Week: Rogue One

Leave a Reply

