Best of the Week: Avatar

Without a doubt, the film that I watched just a few days ago was my favorite of the week: AvatarI only watched four films this week, so it was between this, Why Him? (read my review here), The Contender (read my review here), and Ghostbusters (I removed my review because I felt bad about shitting on it so heavily). Naturally, this film won by a landslide, and reasonably so. Read my full review for it here; these next few paragraphs will be excerpts from my review.

Avatar is the 2009 global phenomenon/miracle from one of my favorite directors, James Cameron (The Terminator, Terminator 2, Aliens, etc), after he spent decades writing and creating the film. Starring Sam Worthington, Zoe Saldana, Sigourney Weaver, Stephan Lang, and Laz Alonso amongst many others as well in a story about love, war, environmentalism, genocide, abuse of power, greed and so much more. James Cameron had the first full draft of the script treatment ready in 1994, and planned to start filming soon after he finished Titanic so that Avatar could be released in 1999. Well, the technology just wasn’t as advanced as his mind, so he had to wait years for VFX to catch up- and good thing he did. The visuals in this film are still life-like after seven years, and I’m sure they will still look amazing for years to come. Really, nothing in this film seems sloppy, lazy or rushed; this movie is a masterpiece and a marvel in every single aspect- and it’s one of the greatest film experiences that I’ve ever had.

Everybody has seen Avatar, it’s basically just part of life at this point: Learn to walk, learn to speak, potty train, start elementary school, learn to bike, watch Avatar, etc are all necessary for surviving in the world. While that’s a joke, the amount of money that this film made is not- and that’s representative of how many people saw it (or the people like me who saw it more than once at $14 per ticket….). Because of the vast audience this film reached, it’s going to find it’s naysayers inevitably- yet, I find that this group is growing for some reason, as if it’s becoming a popular opinion to find this film overrated? And they all have the same argument: “this film is just like Pocahontas (1995), Dances with Wolves (1990) or Ferngully (1992); it’s not original!” To that I say: “we must have watched a different movie, and you should do some research.”

Avatar is one of the most beautiful and impressive films that you can possibly watch, and I mean that in just about every way. The story is just as beautiful as the visual effects, and the way that James Cameron combined the best parts of a few different stories, and added so much of his own original material, made this film one that is not easily forgotten. Seeing this film in IMAX back seven years ago as a great experience for 14 year old me, but now, seeing it as an adult who has studied film for a few years now, I think I am finally able to appreciate this film, to at least some degree more than I used to. There are some cheesy lines but those can be overlooked…the cast, director, and VFX team did a glorious job in making this monster of a film, and along with Terminator 2, Titanic and Aliens, James Cameron plants another of his films into my Top 10 of all time. I’m going to give this film a perfect 10/10 and give it a gold recommendation, and it’s pretty much just part of life now to have seen it so there’s motivation to watch it. As always, thanks for reading, comment if you’d like to share your thoughts, and I’ll see you soon!

Leave a Reply

