Review: Ghostbusters

Ghostbusters is a 1984 classic film starring Bill Murray, Sigourney Weaver, Dan Aykroyd, Harold Ramis, Ernie Hudson, and Rick Moranis in a comedy about, well, ghosts! Written by a few members of the cast, and directed by Ivan Reitman, this film follows a group of friends who believe in the paranormal, and attempt to prove their existence and stop them from harming citizens of New York City. This movie is basically a comedic and supernatural Avengers film, but with many more laughs, and 30 years of dated special effects. Really, the only part of this film that hasn’t aged is the humor- which made me laugh out loud multiple times; I’m really curious as to how many of Bill Murray’s lines were improvised because at least 50% sounded made up on the spot, and 100% made me chuckle. All four guys together were like a group of soccer dads together, telling jokes and having fun- it was silly humor without a doubt, and this is probably your dad’s favorite movie. I’m not saying it’s an old and corny movie… but it’s an old and corny movie, now I’ve said it.

When I watched this film as a kid, I was absolutely terrified… and I hadn’t watched it since until yesterday and I realize just how silly the scares have become. Suspending disbelief comes naturally for kids because naivety is one of their most prominent instincts, it seems- this is not the same for adults. However, what I traded for in startles, I received laughs instead… and seeing how this is a comedy, I feel like I got a good deal. The atmosphere in some scenes is genuinely spooky at times, which makes the comic relief aspects much more relieving- giving us a group of characters that we can not only get behind because they’re likable characters, but I think that there is some subconscious instinct to like them since they are relieving us of our fear when the movie tries to scare us; it works! The characters are lovable, and their individual personalities are tangibly different from each other. One of my favorite parts of the film was Rick Moranis, who kept trying to romantically (awkwardly) win Sigourney Weaver’s character over throughout the film.

The only real gripe that i have with this film is nothing that i could have prevented- it simply aged in extreme ways: the sound is very fuzzy at times and the effects are hard to look at and not laugh at- which can be seen as a positive since it just makes the whole film much less serious and much more comical. So, I suppose that as a comedy, this film has aged like fine wine- but as a horror film, this film aged like cheese left out in the sun (hey, some people will appreciate it). On the other hand, I was pleasantly surprised by how much depth this movie had at times- relating the ghosts to Judgment Day from the bible (I’m only familiar with Terminator 2), and many other themes that were very mature for a simple comedy (no longer a simple comedy, it seems).

Overall, Ghostbusters is 100% cheesy popcorn fun, with a ridiculous amount of laughs, characters that are always nice to see on screen, and a story that handles a surprising amount of depth and themes. Being a classic, it’s simply part of the cultural experience to have seen the original Ghostbusters, so I would recommend it just based on that fact alone- but besides that, the film is a lot of fun as a film, and not just a classic. The actors themselves make this possible, and Bill Murray could easily carry the entire film himself. However, he has a lot of people there to help, and they all improve the film as well. The only problem that I have is that the effects, and the sound have aged quite poorly, but they also help to being out more comedy in the film. I’m going to give this movie a 7+/10, and a green review… also, it’s the only Ghostbusters film that you need bother with at all! As always, thanks for reading, comment your thoughts, and share if you liked the review! I’ll see you soon with more content.

Leave a Reply

