Movie Question: Movie That Made You Love Movies

For me, this is an easy question to answer: Peter Jackson‘s King KongI’m certainly the minority here, since for some reason this and Avatar are being bandwagonned against, but I love this movie like crazy. Ever since I first saw this movie going on 11 years ago, it’s been one of my favorites, and I’m proud of this, actually. Though, considering it as the movie that birthed my cinephilia was not like a switch went from OFF to ON. This took some thought, and I had to compare my reaction to this to other movies and really think about when I first saw a lot of these films. When asked what my favorite movies are, I always say Terminator 2 and Aliens. I first watched the latter at age 11, and the former at age 12. I didn’t “grow up” with these movies, but from my first viewing, they were my favorites and they have stayed that way ever since. Movies that I did grow up with were Star Wars, Toy Story, The Princess Bride, and other Disney animated films, but those were always “movies” and I never thought of them as anything more. At age 10, King Kong changed that.

Kong was not only epic, exciting, and even a little scary to little me, but it made me wonder more about HOW films were made, and WHY people watch them. This movie completely changed the kind of movie-lover that I was, and I have been a movie-lover since birth (so says Mom). Certain films come and go from my “favorite movies” list over the years, but I’ve always respected King Kong as a fantasy, as a romance, as an adventure, as an experience, and as I can always look back on this film to teach me things about cinema. Sure, some people laugh at the green screen, the casting, the dialogue, but I think that these little flaws in this movie showcase how films can be improved. If I ever make an epic fantasy film, I can look back onto this film for everything: do’s and don’t’s as far as performances, story, effects and everything else is concerned. It’s not a perfect movie, and some people even say that it’s a bad movie, but I have to stand my ground and defend this film as being the triumph that it is, to me.

Being able to change my love of movies this severely has to be worth something, and I owe one hell of a lot to Peter Jackson for making this movie. This age-old tale of the beauty and the beast, and man’s relationship with the world and animals, as well as the greedy nature of humanity is showcased extremely well here. Kong is an epic story, not just in scale but in content- there is so much here to study and learn, and I honestly feel blessed that I’m in the minority of my friends who love this film. Sure, one could read the book or watch the original and probably get just as much, or even more, and less bad CGI and miscasting, but I think one would be missing a lot of potential enjoyment that this film has to offer. This isn’t a review, so I’m not going to rate this film, but I will recommend it, and if you haven’t seen it for awhile, maybe revisit it and give it another try. Look at it differently, maybe even through a 10-year-old’s mind and try to get something out of the film. I sure will soon! As always, thanks for reading! Comment your opinions down below, share if you liked or hated this, and I’ll see you soon!

3 thoughts on “Movie Question: Movie That Made You Love Movies

Leave a Reply

